top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Every Single American Girl Movie In Existence!

Updated: Dec 23, 2019

There's no news today, so I decided to make a list of every single American Girl movie so far in celebration of the new one coming soon! Here we go!

The first American Girl movie was Samantha: An American Girl Holiday. It was based on Samantha's book series and used elements from four of her books (the Manners and Mischief volume and Changes for Samantha). It starred AnnaSophia Robb as Samantha, who went on to become a movie star in movies including Bridge to Terabithia and Soul Surfer. The movie premiered on November 23, 2004 on the former channel The WB (aka The CW now) and released on DVD a week later, on November 30, 2004. The initial TV airing was sponsored by Tide.

The second American Girl movie was Felicity: An American Girl Adventure. It was based on Felicity's first three books (aka Love and Loyalty). It starred Shailene Woodley as Felicity, who went on to star in the popular Divergent film series. The movie premiered on November 29, 2005 on The WB and released on DVD on December 6, 2005.

The third American Girl movie was Molly: An American Girl on the Home Front. It was based on Molly's books Meet Molly, Happy Birthday, Molly and Changes for Molly, with some changes from the books, mostly making Emily a more major character. It starred Maya Ritter as Molly, who's most recent acting role was in 2016 as a voice on the Disney Junior show Goldie and Bear. The movie premiered on November 26, 2006 on Disney Channel and released on DVD 2 days later.

The fourth American Girl movie and the first theatrical one was Kit Kittredge: An American Girl. It was loosely based on Kit's books and mostly had an original story. It starred Abigail Breslin as Kit, who was a child star when the movie premiered and is still acting in many movies today. The movie released in theaters on June 20, 2008 and released on DVD on October 28, 2008.

The fifth American Girl movie and first movie about a Girl of the Year doll was Chrissa Stands Strong. It was based on both of Chrissa's books with some minor changes, like the name spelling and look of the Mean Bee Jadyn. It starred Sammi Hanratty as Chrissa, who is still acting today in TV shows like The Vampire Diaries. The movie premiered on HBO on January 5, 2009 (exactly five years before AGDN started!) and released on DVD the next day.

The sixth American Girl movie was McKenna Shoots for The Stars. It was loosely based on McKenna's two books with many changes, including plot details and the looks of characters like McKenna and Josie. It starred Jade Pettyjohn as McKenna, who went on to be a series regular on the Nickelodeon show School of Rock. The movie released on July 3, 2012 on DVD and aired on NBC on July 14, 2012.

The seventh American Girl movie was Saige Paints the Sky. It was loosely based on Saige's two books with many changes, like plot details and character looks. It starred Sidney Fullmer as Saige, who went on to star in one more movie and is now a normal high school student who will graduate this year. It released on July 2, 2013 on DVD and aired on NBC on July 13, 2013.

The eighth American Girl movie was Isabelle Dances Into the Spotlight. It was loosely based on Isabelle's first two books with many changes, like an added subplot. It starred Erin Pitt as Isabelle, who acted in one more TV movie and hasn't been in anything since, and is now living a normal life and going to school (and she's brunette now!) The movie released on July 22, 2014 on DVD (exactly one year before I got diagnosed with diabetes) and aired on Disney Channel on August 6, 2014.

The ninth American Girl movie was Grace Stirs Up Success. It was loosely based on Grace's first and third book with an added subplot, characters and situations. It starred Olivia Rodrigo as Grace, who is now acting for Disney Channel in TV shows like Bizzardvark and their upcoming High School Musical: The Musical series. The movie released on June 23, 2015 and aired almost a year later on Disney Channel on June 11, 2016.

The tenth American Girl movie was Lea to the Rescue. It was loosely based on Lea's books, with a new storyline meant to serve as a sequel to the Lea book series. It starred Maggie Elizabeth Jones as Lea, who hasn't been in anything since and has been living a normal life. The movie released on June 14, 2016 and aired on Disney Channel on November 23, 2016.

The eleventh American Girl movie will come out soon! It's unknown who it's going to be about, but either way, I'm excited!

Are you excited for the new American Girl movie? What's your favorite current AG movie? Mine is Molly's, but I haven't seen most of the movies in a long time, so I think I'll have to binge them all soon and see what's my new favorite. Maybe during spring break I will!

8,773 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page